Biographies of the new Cardinals – Two are from Africa

Cardinals - ConsistórioBibliographies of the Cardinals created by Pope Francis during the Consistory of Saturday 22 February:

— Pietro Parolin, titular Archbishop of Acquapendente, Secretary of State;

— Lorenzo Baldisseri, titular Archbishop of Diocletiana, Secretary General of the Synod of Bishops;

— Gerhard Ludwig Müller, Bishop emeritus of Regensburg, Germany; Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

— Beniamino Stella, titular Archbishop of Midila, Prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy;

— Vincent Gerard Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster, Great Britain;

— Leopoldo José Brenes Solórzano, Archbishop of Managua, Nicaragua;

— Gérald Cyprien Lacroix, Archbishop of Quebec, Canada;

— Jean-Pierre Kutwa, Archbishop of Abidjan, the Ivory Coast;

— Orani João Tempesta, O. Cist., Archbishop of São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil;

— Gualtiero Bassetti, Archbishop of Perugia-Città della Pieve, Italy;

— Mario Aurelio Poli, Archbishop of Buenos Aires, Argentina;

— Andrew Yeom Soo jung, Archbishop of Seoul, Korea;

— Ricardo Ezzati Andrello, SDB, Archbishop of Santiago de Chile, Chile;

— Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo, Archbishop of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso;

— Orlando B. Quevedo, OMI, Archbishop of Cotabato, the Philippines;

— Chibly Langlois, Bishop of Les Cayes, Haiti;

In addition to these members of the College of Cardinals I shall appoint three Archbishops emeritus for their distinguished service to the Holy See and the Church:

— Loris Francesco Capovilla, titular Archbishop of Mesembria;

— Fernando Sebastián Aguillar, CMF, Archbishop emeritus of Pamplona, Spain;

— Kelvin Edward Felix, Archbishop emeritus of Castries, the West Indies.