Le pape reporte la Journée des migrants/des réfugiés à septembre

Nouvelles du Vatican

Le pape Francis a reporté la Journée mondiale des migrants et des réfugiés de janvier à septembre, a annoncé le porte-parole du Saint-Siège, M. Greg Burke, dans un communiqué publié le 20 novembre.

« A la demande de diverses conférences épiscopales, le Saint-Père a reporté la Journée mondiale des migrants et des réfugiés au dernier dimanche de septembre », indique le communiqué. «Ainsi, la prochaine Journée mondiale des migrants et des réfugiés, la 105ème sera célébrée le dimanche 29 septembre 2019».

Les origines de la Journée mondiale des migrants et des réfugiés remontent à 1914, quelques mois avant le début de la Première Guerre mondiale. Touché par le drame de millions d’Italiens ayant émigré à l’étranger depuis le début du XXe siècle, le pape Pie X a appelé tous les chrétiens à prier pour les migrants. Quelques mois plus tard, son successeur, le pape Benoît XV, institua la Journée du migrant afin de soutenir spirituellement et économiquement le travail pastoral des émigrés italiens.

En 1952, la Journée des migrants prit une connotation plus large et plus internationale et les Eglises particulières furent invitées à choisir une date pour célébrer cette journée au cours de l’année liturgique.

Saint Jean-Paul II a été le premier pontife qui, depuis 1985, publiait chaque année un message attirant l’attention sur certaines des réalités et des difficultés spécifiques des personnes en mouvement appelant l’Eglise à agir.

En 2004, le Conseil pontifical pour la pastorale des migrants et des personnes en déplacement a étendu la journée aux réfugiés en l’appelant Journée  mondiale des migrants et des réfugiés.

À la demande de Saint Jean-Paul II, la Journée mondiale des migrants et des réfugiés est célébrée par l’Église universelle le deuxième dimanche après l’Épiphanie, depuis 2005.

À l’occasion de la 104ème Journée mondiale des migrants et des réfugiés, le 14 janvier 2018, le pape François a annoncé le changement de la date de célébration qui sera désormais le dernier dimanche de septembre.

Français
Subscribe to SECAM Newsletter
Church-Family of God in Africa, Celebrate your Jubilee! Proclaim Jesus Christ your Saviour.
Your Information will never be shared with any third party.

Pope shifts World Day of Migrants and Refugees to September

Vatican News

Pope Francis has shifted the Catholic Church’s annual World Day of Migrants and Refugees from January to September, the Holy See spokesman, Greg Burke said in a statement on Nov. 20.

“At the request of various Bishops’ Conferences, the Holy Father has moved the World Day of Migrants and Refugees to the last Sunday of September,” the statement read. “Thus, the next World Day of Migrants and Refugees, the 105 th  will be celebrated on Sunday 29 September 2019.”

The origins of the World Day of Migrants and Refugees can be traced to 1914, a few months before the outbreak of World War I.  Touched by the drama of millions of Italians who had migrated abroad since the beginning of the 20th century, Pope Pius X called on all Christians to pray for migrants. A few months later, his successor Pope Benedict XV instituted the Day of the Migrant to support spiritually and economically the pastoral work for Italian emigrants.

In 1952, Migrant Day took on a broader and more international connotation and the particular Churches were called upon to choose a date to celebrate the day during the liturgical year.

St. John Paul II was the first pontiff who, since 1985, issued a message each year drawing attention to some of the specific realities and difficulties of people on the move, calling the Church to action.

In 2004, the Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People extended the day to refugees calling it the World Day of Migrants and Refugees.

At the behest of St. John Paul II, the World Day of Migrants and Refugees has been celebrated by the Universal Church on the 2nd Sunday after the Epiphany, since 2005.

On the occasion of the  104th World Day of Migrants and Refugees, on January 14, 2018, Pope Francis announced the change in the date of celebration which will from now be the last Sunday of September.

English
Subscribe to SECAM Newsletter
Church-Family of God in Africa, Celebrate your Jubilee! Proclaim Jesus Christ your Saviour.
Your Information will never be shared with any third party.