Archbishop Ignatius Chama

  • Bishop_Ignatius_Chama_of_Kasama
  • chama
  • chama2

Directory Item Category: Archbishop / BishopDirectory Item Tags: Archbishop

Related Listing
  • Archbishop of KASAMA – ZAMBIA

    Population of the Diocese: 1,190,692

    No. of Catholics: 660,640

    Parishes And Quasi-Parishes 26

    Secular Priests Residents in the Diocese: 71

    Religious Priests Residents in the Diocese: 19

    Members of Non priests Men Religious: 16

    Education Institutes: 60

    Hospital & clinic 6

    Home Based Care (HIV) Centres 70

    Charitable Institutes 36


    Bishop Joseph Dupont (1897-1911

    Bishop Etienne Larue (1913-35)

    Bishop Alexander Roy(1935-1949)

    Bishop Marcel Daubechies (1950-1964)

    Archbishop Chabukasansha (1965-1973)

    Archbishop Elias Mutale (1973-1990)

    Archbishop James Spaita (1990-2009)


    1868: Cardinal Charles Lavigerie founded the Society of Missionaries of Africa, M.Afr. (White

    Fathers) in Algeria, North Africa. Later, he also founded the Congregation of women –

    Missionary Sisters of Our Lady of Africa, Msola.

    1891: First presence of Catholic Priests, Missionaries of Africa, M.Afr – (White Fathers) in the

    1895: First Mission established at Kayambi. Spreading the Gospel to Bemba tribes of the

    1897: Establishment of Nyasa Vicariate separating it from Tanzania. Nyasa comprised of the

    15/08/1897: Bishop Joseph Dupont, nicknamed MotoMoto (Fire, Fire) “King of the Brigards”

    1899: Missionaries of Africa Settled in Chilubula and named it Mary Help of Christians Parish.

    28/08/1913: Division of Bangweolo and Nyasa Vicariates. The whole Northern part of Mansa,

    23/05/1933: Mission of Abercon (Mbala) now Mpika Diocese separated from Bangweolo.

    Dec. 1950: Curia moves from Chilubula to Kasama the Provincial headquarters. Cathedral Parish

    10/07/1952: Fort Rosebery (Mansa Diocese or Luapula Province) Apostolic prefecture separated from

    25/04/1959: Kasama gets a status of Diocese of Kasama at the establishment of the Hierarchy in

    12/06/1969: Raised to the status of Archdiocese of Kasama. Becomes Metropolitan of Mansa and

    Northern Region at Mambwe Mwela.


    whole North and East of Zambia and Malawi.

    appointed as first Vicar Apostolic of Nyasa Vicariate at Kayambi, Queen of Angels

    Parish. Died in Tunisia on 19 th March, 1930 reburied in Chilubula his first Cathedral on

    his 150 th Anniversary of his birth on 17 th December, 2000.

    Chilubula since then became the Heard Quarters of the Catholic Administration in the

    Northern Region.

    Kasama and Mpika belonged to Bangweolo.

    named St. John the Evangelist by Bishop Marcel Daubechies

    Bangweolo. Kasama named Vicariate of Apostolic of Kasama



    – First Diocesan Bishop of Kasama Rt. Rev. Clement Chabukasansha consequently

    consecrated Archbishop of Kasama.

    1973: Rt. Rev. Elias Mutale becomes Archbishop of Kasama.

    1990 Very Rev. Aaron Chisha elected as Diocesan Administrator.

    24/02/1991: Rt. Rev. James Mwewa Spaita – took Office

    16/04/1991: Installed Archbishop of Kasama Archdiocese.

    23/05/1999: His Excellency the Apostolic Nuncio officially handed to Kasama Archdiocese

    Mbala Deanery, which belonged to the former Mbala-Mpika Diocese.

    28/04/2009: Retirement of Archbishop James Mwewa Spaita.

    29/04/2009: Appointed of Monsignor Ignatius Mwebe as Apostolic Administrator

    16/05/2009: Official handover as Apostolic Administrator of Kasama Archdiocese by Nuncio Nicola

    12/01/2012: Appointment of Rt Rev. Ignatius Chama as Archbishop of Kasama Archdiocese.

    28/04/2012: Took office and installation as Archbishop of Kasama.

  • No Records Found

    Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.

    Google Map Not Loaded

    Sorry, unable to load Google Maps API.